Partnership history of ASU Modeling Instruction & MNS Programs in High School Science (as of spring 2023)

Note: The American Modeling Teachers Association (AMTA) was founded in summer 2005, as the nationwide scale-up of Modeling Instruction. AMTA and ASU Modeling Instruction Program have worked closely since AMTA founding, but they are separate organizations.

Funding partners:


* Salt River Project, PAB-335, 1521 N. Project Drive, Tempe, AZ 85281-1298
            Renewable energy curriculum development and dissemination (2008-09).
            Partial ASU tuition scholarships for teachers in Modeling Workshops

                        (2007, 2008, 2009, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015).

Program support (2011, 2016-present)


*ON Semiconductor in Phoenix: partial ASU tuition scholarships (2016, 2018, 2019, 2020-21).

* First Fidelity Bank (Scottsdale branch): program support (2020).

*Alliance Bank of Arizona: partial ASU tuition scholarships & program support (2016, 2018, 2019).

*WebPT in Phoenix (physical therapy software): partial ASU tuition scholarships (2018, 2019).

*Core Construction in Phoenix: partial ASU tuition scholarships (2023, 2019), program support (2020).

*Versum Materials (formerly Air Products): partial ASU tuition scholarships (2016).


*West Pharmaceutical (Tempe branch): 3 scholarships (2022); program support (2017).


* The Boeing Company in Mesa, Arizona: partial ASU tuition scholarships and program support (2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016).

* Freeport-McMoRan: tuition scholarships, travel, and subsistence for two rural Arizona teachers at ASU in 2013 (award granted through AMTA).



* Arizona Technology Council Foundation: two partial ASU tuition scholarships in 2014 and again in 2017.

* The Ronald and Ling Cheng Foundation: partial and full ASU tuition scholarships for non-Arizona teachers in physics Modeling Workshops who commit to leadership (2012, 2013)



* Arizona Board of Regents (ABOR): Federal Eisenhower and NCLB "Improving Teacher Quality" grants (1998 to 2010)


Institutional partners:


ASU partners in higher education that hosted Modeling Workshops both before and after the founding of AMTA:

California: California State University, Fresno (2000-2004, 2007, 2009). David Andrews

Florida: Florida International University, Miami (2004-present). Laird Kramer, David Jones

Hawaii: University of Hawaii at Manoa (1999-2006). Agnes Fok (retired)

Illinois: Dominican University, Chicago (2005-2007). Carl Wenning (retired)

Indiana: University of Notre Dame, South Bend (2002, 2009-2015). Randi Ruchti, Gordon Berry

Iowa: University of Northern Iowa, Cedar Falls (2002-2011, 2014). Larry Escalada
Kansas: Fort Hays State University, Hays (2005-present). Paul Adams

            Emporia State University, Emporia (2002, 2003, 2005-2012)

Maine: Maine STEM Modeling Workshops, Kennebunk (2000-present). James Vesenka

Massachusetts: Bridgewater State College (2003, 2005, 2009). Jeff Williams

New York: Buffalo State College (2003-present). Dan MacIsaac

Ohio: The Ohio State University, Columbus (2004-2018). Kathy Harper

South Dakota: Black Hills State University, Spearfish (2000, 2001, 2009-2014). Rena Faye Norby (retired), Andy Johnson

University of Wisconsin, Oshkosh (2002-2012, 2018-present). Mark Lattery

University of Wisconsin, River Falls (1997-2001, 2004, 2009). Eileen Korenic


ASU partners in higher education that hosted Modeling Workshops only prior to the founding of AMTA:

Arizona: Northern Arizona University, Flagstaff. (1998-2000). Dan MacIsaac (relocated)

            University of Arizona, Tucson (1999-2001). Ingrid Novodvorsky

Arkansas: Arkansas State University, Jonesboro (2002, 2003). Andrew Sustich, Dean

California: University of California at Davis (1998, 1999). Wendell Potter (retired)

Florida: University of Central Florida, Orlando (1998-2002). Madi Dogariu (relocated)

Illinois: Illinois State University, Normal (2001-2003). Carl Wenning, Ken Wester

Kansas: Wichita State University, Wichita, KS (1998). Elizabeth Behrman

Maine: University of Maine, Orono (1999). John Thompson

Maryland: University of Maryland, College Park (1998). Edward "Joe" Redish.

Michigan: University of Michigan, Dearborn (2000). Paul Zitzewitz (deceased)

Mississippi: Mississippi State University (2003). Taha Mzoughi (relocated)

Missouri: Southwest Missouri State University, Springfield (2001-2004). Kandiah Manivannan, with Drury College, Springfield (2004). Brant Hinrichs

            University of Missouri, St. Louis (2000 -2004). Hal Harris

North Carolina: University of North Carolina, Greensboro (1999-2004 ). Jerry Meisner

            Appalachian State University, Boone, NC (2001-2004). Patricia Allen

            Carteret Community College, Morehead City, NC (2002 and 2003).

Ohio: University of Akron, Ohio (1997 - 2001). Greg Townsend (relocated)

Pennsylvania: Widener University, Widener (2001-2002). Jeff Dunne (relocated)

Tennessee: University of Tennessee, Knoxville (2000). Stuart Elston

Virginia: George Mason University, Fairfax (2005). Donna Sterling

            Mary Washington College, Fredericksburg (2000). George King (retired)

Wisconsin: Marquette University, Milwaukee (2004 and 2005). Joan Whipp


ASU partners: K-12 schools and school districts that funded and/or hosted Modeling Workshops prior to the founding of AMTA.

Arizona: Bisbee Unified School District (2000)

            Phoenix Union High School District (2000-2002, 2005-present). Russ Shaffer

            Glendale Union High School District (2000 - 2002). Liz Tataseo, Debi Plum, formerly Math Coordinators.

            Mesa Public Schools (2002, 2003). Ric Vanosdall (relocated)

           Glendale Elementary School District (2002)

            Peoria Unified School District (2002)

            Washington Elementary School District (2002)

            Paradise Valley Unified School District (2004, 2005).

Washington, D.C.: St. Albans School (1998). Robert Morse (retired)

Illinois: Wheaton-Warrenville South High School (2003- 2005, 2008, 2012-present). Jim Stankevitz, Phil Culcasi

Indiana: Indianapolis ISD (2003). Rick French, formerly Science Coordinator (retired).

North Carolina: Charlotte Latin School, Charlotte (2005). Patten Priestley (relocated)

North Carolina: Charlotte-Mecklenburg Public Schools, Charlotte (2004). Jane Kinney

Texas: Edgewood ISD, San Antonio (2003). Andrew Schuetze (relocated)

Wisconsin: Madison West High School (1998, 1999). Neal Prochnow (retired)

            Brookfield Central High School (near Milwaukee) (1998, 1999)

            Neenah High School (1999)